The Bread of Idleness | Becoming a Proverbs 31 Woman

Today’s post comes from our very own Mops coordinator, Sarah. She is a wife and a mom of two sweet little ones. Fun fact: Sarah is also a birth doula! From a woman passionate about birth, babies, and motherhood, here’s her reflection on last week’s meeting.
  
Proverbs 31:27
“She looks well to the ways of her household and does not eat the bread of idleness.”

As I read through Proverbs 31, that verse stung with conviction. I am a messy person. And not just the “beautiful mess” that we’ve been talking about at Mops. I am a pile-making, clothes-on-the-floor, unfolded-laundry, I’ll-do-it-tomorrow kind of messy. Ironically, I am married to a puts-things-away, pile-destroying, folds-laundry-the-instant-the-dryer-beeps kind of clean freak.

As you can imagine, it was cute while we were dating, but has been a struggle since we got married. I’ve often thought to myself, “I’m busy with the kids. He can clean when he gets home. He’s better at it than me.” This is the lie that I had begun to tell myself.

The truth was that I was eating the bread of idleness. I didn’t want to do it, so I rationalized it away. Listening to Becky Barnfather speak last week and reading this passage has jump-started my motivation. I am choosing to not eat the bread of idleness. I have instilled the “15 minutes of cleaning a day” and it has been awesome. It’s amazing what I can get done in that short amount of time.

It’s also been great to see the reaction I get from my husband. He enjoys coming home to a clean house and tells me what a blessing it is to him. In the simple act of cleaning 15 minutes a day, I am developing discipline, blessing my husband, and making my home a more welcoming environment.

What, if any, changes have you made since listening to Becky talk on “How to have a (fake) Immaculate home”?

Comment below and you’ll be entered to win a prize at our Oct 10th meeting!

7 thoughts on “The Bread of Idleness | Becoming a Proverbs 31 Woman

  1. I started the “15 min a day” and not leaving a room empty handed. These both have been awesome and I can't believe how many times in the past I have left one room to go into another and could have brought several items with me. I hope this will help me stay clutter free in my living room. Doing the 15 min a day has helped me to clean and my husband has noticed as well and been thankful 🙂

  2. Thanks for being REAL Sarah! I am working on my bathrooms. 15 minutes once a week making sure both are clean. Sometimes I can do a good job of the surface level clean, but leave the deep cleaning out, I am trying to get better! Thanks Becky for all the great tips!!

  3. My house is always 15 minutes to guest ready. I may have clean laundry on my couch that I haven't folded or some paperwork scattered about but I know I can have it presentable in 15 minutes. Either that or I pull out the vacuum when I see someone pulling in unannounced and pretend like they caught me in the middle of cleaning 😉

  4. After sharing the topic with my husband, he and I each created a 15 minute a day list. He says he wants to be part of the solution – I'm sooo lucky! He made his list include the things that drive him crazy about the house so it's a win-win!

  5. So sad I missed this meeting, sounds like a topic I could really have used. Thanks for sharing Sarah! With an almost 4 week old and a 2 year old I am totally going to use the 15 minutes of cleaning idea!

Post a Response

