Table Leader Tuesday | Meet Jenny

Throughout the semester, we’ll be interviewing your Mops at GBC Table Leaders so you can get familiar with our wonderful leadership team. Today I’m SO excited to introduce you to Jenny and her adorable family! She’s happily married and the mother of two crazy adorable little boys.

Mops at GBC TL Tuesday

Jenny & Family

Tell us about yourself and your family:
I grew up in Orange County. My parents were not believers when they got married, but by the grace of God came to know Him when I was a little girl. As far back as I can remember church was our second home. The more I knew Jesus the more I wanted to know Him. That desire and my volleyball skills brought me to Azusa Pacific University where I played volleyball, and obtained my bachelor of Arts in Social Science,my single subject teaching credential and my masters in education. I met my husband Nick (who attended The Masters College) during our senior year of college. God blessed me with a man after His own heart, who was handsome and TALL, and who loved volleyball!! We were married on July 7, 2007 and moved to Santa Clarita in 2009 for a teaching job for Nick and to be near family. Nick continues to teach high school math and I taught junior high world history until I had our boys. Noah was born in June 2011, and Lucas in November 2012. Currently I teach a few hours a week for a homeschool program. We attend Grace Baptist Church, and the Lord continues to work in us and teach us what it means to follow Him daily and how to train up our boys in His ways.

How long have you been in MOPs? How long have you been on the leadership team?

This is my second full year of being in MOPs and my first year in leadership as a table leader.

What were your thoughts when you found out you were pregnant with your first child?

I was beyond excited! It was surreal to think that there was actually a baby growing inside me! However with that excitement came a sense of fear and worry that I had never sensed before. I had some complications during my first trimester that caused us to think I might miscarry. It was in those moments that I really began to understand the heart of a mom. I realized this was just the beginning, my heart would be prone to worry about this little one for the rest of my life. It was during this time that my heart began to realize the need to give this child back daily to the Lord trusting and praising God for his good gifts, and praising Him no matter what the circumstances.

Share a favorite vacation memory

One of my favorite memories is a yearly vacation we take with my husbands family to Bass Lake. My husband has gone every year with about 15-20 members of his family since he was a baby! This is the family that wears matching shirts, and caravans up together, and all stay in a cabin together right on the lake. We have a great time every year, and I love being part of a family like this. I hope to create such memories and yearly vacations with my children as they get older:)

How has motherhood changed you?

Motherhood has changed my perspective on life. I grew up being taught about what it means to have a servant’s heart, and how as believers we need to rely on the Lord and how we can’t do things on our own, and although I believed all of that, having children really gave me a better understanding of what that means. It teaches me what it means to have sacrificial love and to have a servant’s heart (something I definitely struggle with on a daily basis). It teaches me to daily lean on the Lord for his help and patience as I am home with our boys. I realize so strongly how, on my own I would, and do, fail at this great task of parenting. And yet, it gives me the realization and constant reminder of my need for our rescuer Jesus Christ. More than anything it has given me the realization that I am not in control, and that I need to give myself and my family into the Lord’s hands daily.

7 thoughts on “Table Leader Tuesday | Meet Jenny

  1. “my heart began to realize the need to give this child back daily to the Lord” -I loved reading this part Jenny, as I was able to recall the same realization upon the first days of motherhood myself(8years ago, yet again 4 years ago). Not sure if that need has gotten easier as my children are past the infant stage- or if it just isn’t in the forefront of my mind and heart as it was when the emotions were new and raw-(perhaps easier to remember to whisper those prayers when you are staring into a child’s nursing or sleeping eyes as you rock back and forth)-thank you for allowing us to get to know you and most of all thank you for the reminder that my children ARE God’s before they were mine:)

  2. LOVE IT …lots of GUILTY A HA moments …..gotta think we are all masterpiece mums made by the almighty to add character to life and our lil ones !! THANKS for sharing !!

Post a Response

