Foodie Friday | Kids’ Favorite Chicken Nuggets

We have a delicious recipe for chicken nuggets today, from Erin S. Thanks for this tasty recipe, Erin!! She says:

If your children are anything like mine, they love chicken nuggets. But what is really in those breaded frozen bites of goodness? I’m not sure and am trying to be a better mom about not giving my sons foods I don’t really want to eat myself. So now I make my own. I know what goes into them, they are easy to make, and my sons love them! So here’s the process.

Chicken Nuggets

Materials:
2 shallow bowls
1-2 sets of tongs (my son helps so we each have our own tongs)
cookie sheet or Press ‘n Seal wrap

Ingredients: 
chicken breasts/tenders (I stock up when it’s on good sale – last month I bought 12 lbs. for $1.69 a lb)
2 eggs
Parmesan cheese
bread crumbs (optional)
favorite flavoring (dry ranch dressing pack, Garlic Powder, Onion Powder) (or tasteless plug – Tastefully Simple Spinach & Herb, Dried Garlic & Tomato Pesto, Garlic Garlic, Onion Onion, or Italian Garlic Seasoning)

IMG_4117

Steps:
In one shallow bowl, mix 2 eggs together.
In the second shallow bowl, mix 1 part bread crumb, 1 part Parmesan cheese, and 1-2 TBSP. of flavoring, with a fork.IMG_4118

Cut chicken into strips or pieces.
Dip chicken into the eggs, then into the second mixture. Cover the pieces completely.

IMG_4119

Either place on a cookie sheet to cook now or place on Press ‘n Seal.

Cook at 350 degrees for 18-22 minutes or until cooked through. Once chicken is cooled, put on Press ‘n Seal and separate each piece. Pull out just what you want to eat that day and heat in the microwave.

IMG_4122

OR

If you don’t want to cook, put on Press ‘n Seal and then seal between each piece. Put the raw chicken (separated by the Press ‘n Seal) into a freezer bag and put in the freezer. Pull out just the pieces you want to cook that day. Chicken may take longer if cooking from frozen.

You can make a lot of these at once. My son helps pick up the chicken and put it in the eggs and then the dry mixture using the tongs. He loves helping and loves to choose the flavor he makes. His favorite is the Spinach & Herb!  Add in as much flavoring as you/your kids like. (maybe a 1 tsp of Garlic powder, etc. – you’ll have to play with that flavoring profile to match your kids likes/dislikes – but do not be afraid to add flavoring. Most kids won’t even notice it!)

IMG_4123

Now your kids can have chicken nuggets/strips as often as they want without all of the added “icky” stuff.

7 thoughts on “Foodie Friday | Kids’ Favorite Chicken Nuggets

  1. Run to Albertson’s this weekend -chicken is only $1.48/lb. we just made this two nights ago -got a little adventurous with our flavor profile. My sin wanted Garlic Garlic Spinach & Herb Parmesan chicken. Yum! Best ones yet!!!

  2. These sound good Erin. I can’t wait to try them. I hate looking into a nugget and seeing something that looks like a sponge.
    Lindsay

  3. Thanks for sharing! Great alternative to the normal lunch stuff and healthy. I don’t buy the frozen ones because they scare me. Lol maybe if I have Hayden make them w/me he’ll actually eat them.

  4. This is great! Thanks for the recipe. Always looking for fun, healthy alternatives to processed foods. 🙂

Post a Response

