Finding Courage – The Courage to Forget Comparisons

Each Tuesday, we’ll hear courageous thoughts from the hearts of our very own leadership team. As our team shares their own moments of courage, I encourage you to find the same bravery in yourselves.

Today’s Finding Courage post comes from Lauren, a member of our hospitality team:

Do you have a go-to verse that helps you in times of self-doubt, either as a mom, as a wife, as a friend, etc?

Lauren:

Philippians 4:8 | Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable–if anything is excellent or praiseworthy–think about such things.

This is a verse that I speak over myself multiple times a day. When I am bombarded by the negative thoughts that infiltrate my mind every day- sometimes it feels like every second. You know…the ones telling you that you’re not good enough (as a mom, a wife, an employee, a friend, a sister, a daughter, etc); that you’re not pretty enough; that you won’t amount to anything; that you’re not a good enough Christian. When fear, anxiety, or doubt creeps in, that’s when some TRUTH is needed. My mind tends to wander easily, so I feel like I need to focus it back to what is true, right, pure, lovely, admirable, excellent, or praiseworthy- quite often. This is also the verse that I pray over my daughter every night. I cover her thoughts, her dreams, and her mind with these truths.

Share your story: What about you? How do you find the courage to forget comparisons? Do you have a verse that helps you in times of self-doubt?

4 thoughts on “Finding Courage – The Courage to Forget Comparisons

  1. I find the courage to forget about comparisons by realizing that if I compare myself to what everyone else around me has, it will make me depressed but when I think of what I am thankfully that God blessed me with, I feel blessed and happy. When I am thankfully, I am able to concentrate on how to spread that feeling and it takes the feelings of fear and insecurities away.

  2. “And I am sure of this, that he who began a good work in you will bring it to completion at the day of Jesus Christ.” Phil 1:6. I am not finished yet and neither is anyone else. It can be easy to look at someone and say “Wow. She clearly has it all together.” But the reality is we are all on our own journey, some are just a little further down the road from us. And even they are not complete.

  3. Having two babies in one year rocked my world so much that I didn’t have time to worry about what other people had that I didn’t or what they thought of me. I was just worrying about keeping my babies alive & hopefully myself fed every once in awhile. I now look at my “twins” as a huge blessing that changed me completely & made me the person I am today. I’m in a good place now after not being in a good place for a couple years.

Post a Response

