Finding Courage – The Courage to be Honest

Today’s Finding Courage post comes from Erin W., a member of our boutique team.

What do you think are the hardest areas of your life to be honest about? What is something you do to encourage honesty in your children and in your home?

So when I think of being honest I think of words such as honorable, sincere, humble, respectable, truthful and trustworthy. If there is one thing I have always felt passionate about it would be, to always be honest and truthful. It’s the first thing I look for for in a friend. I pride myself on telling the truth! I expect the truth from my family and friends. It’s something I want my children to live by and know what it means to be an honest person.

It’s also one of my weaknesses. I think I can be too honest. What I mean is, if you ask my opinion I will tell you even if it’s not what you want to hear or it can come across harsh. I think at times I need to be aware of how I tell the truth, putting it more delicately instead of so matter of fact.  I also fail with being honest to myself. Why can’t I admit when I need help or feel like I’m failing in certain areas of my life and I need a good cry. Is it because it shows weakness or failure. Maybe I need to realize to be honest and brave with myself. So this verse helps me when I do have these moments.

2 Corinthians 13:7-9
But we pray that you may not do wrong–not that we may appear to have met the test, but that you may do what is right, though we may seem failed. For we cannot do anything against the truth, but only for the truth. For we are glad when we are weak and you are strong. Your restoration is what we pray for.

I’m at a difficult time right now in teaching honesty to my children. They are only 2 and 3. I think they know to a certain point on what it means to tell the truth but at the same time they are very young to completely understand it. However, just because they are at a young age it is such an important trait and part of life they need to comprehend. It’s my job to teach them through my actions and instill the value of honesty in them. It’s little steps though. About a month ago my son hit his sister and said he didn’t. I knew he did and asked him to tell me the truth. He continued to say he didn’t do it. I explained to him what a lie was and that I needed him to tell me the truth. I encouraged him to explain to me what happened. I finally told him if he did hit his sister but didn’t want to tell me the truth he would need to go sit on his bed. Once, again he said he didn’t hit her, however he put his head down and calmly walked to his bedroom and sat on his bed. At that moment I knew he knew it was wrong what he did and started to really understand what is truth and what is a lie.
It was rewarding for me in the sense I was making head way in the right direction but at the same time realizing it’s going to be a long road. I know it’s about creating a comfortable and safe environment where my children understand that they will make wrong choices but can be honest about the things they have done. For me and my household being honest is about being vulnerable and opening up and is an area we will continue to work on.

Share your story: How do you find the courage to be honest, even when it’s difficult? How do you hope to foster honesty in your children?

5 thoughts on “Finding Courage – The Courage to be Honest

  1. Beautifully put Erin!!! Honesty is something that’s rare today and it’s great to see that there are still people who share the importance of it.

  2. I’m dealing with similar situations in my home. It’s hard observing the sin nature in our children and desiring the wisdom to train them in the way they should go.

  3. I grew up with a family of liars and unfortunately it carried on through me. I found myself going behind my husbands back and getting credit cards so I could shop and not feel bad about it. How ever as time went on he eventually found out. I again lied and said that’s my only credit card and continued to lie and sneak behind his back and spend more. The stress and guilt was really getting to me and effecting our marriage so I came completely clean which he was very upset and disappointed. But lesson learned and I haven’t lied or shopped since I came clean.

  4. The beauty of honesty and our children is that we are the best example. Being truthful about our struggles, sharing how Christ helps us. When they get mad, saying “Mommy gets so mad too.” We show our children how important it is by making it important to us.

Post a Response

