Finding Courage – The Courage to be a Neighbor

Today’s post comes from Lyn C., one of our table leaders.

What qualities do you look for in a friend? Who do you consider to be your neighbors?

I look for loyalty in a friend. It’s easy for me to get along with a lot of different personalities, so my friendships have been very varied throughout the years. But it has been the friendships with my most loyal friends which have helped to shape the course of my life and make me a stronger, more faithful person.

The bible seems to indicate that pretty much everyone is my neighbor. Unfortunately that means I can’t just duck my head and hide in my little hole and never have to engage with people around me. Fortunately, on the other hand, this mean I have the privilege of offering friendship and the Gospel to anyone God brings across my path. And hopefully God will give my neighbors the grace to put up with all my failures and shortcomings.

Share your story: What qualities do you crave in a friendship? What barriers do you find you run up against when trying to make new friends, or when reaching out to your neighbors? Who are your neighbors?

2 thoughts on “Finding Courage – The Courage to be a Neighbor

  1. I have yet to figure out all of my barriers. But I know it has something to do with that first step I take to truly pen myself up, to risk that the other person may not reciprocate, or may not be the person I thought they were. Or they might be a life-sucker and want more from me than is healthy to give. But if we don’t risk, we may miss out on a beautiful friendship.

Post a Response

