Finding Courage – The Courage to Tell Your Story

Today’s Finding Courage post comes from Tammy M., one of our table leaders.

When has hearing someone’s story given you freedom?

Vulnerable, meaning open to moral attack or criticism.  This word is what jumps out at me every time someone asks me “my story”.  I then have to remember that I am opening myself up for The Lord.  John 12:23-25 says “I tell you the truth, unless a kernel of wheat is planted in the soil and dies, remains alone.  But its death will produce many new kernels – a plentiful harvest of new lives.  Those who love their life in this world will lose it.  Those who care nothing for their life in this world will keep it for eternity.”  In these verses Jesus is talking about his sacrificial death, but he also is talking about gospel living.  He is saying that true joy and fulfillment come through sacrificing ourselves, being vulnerable, giving all that we have to others and letting God fill us back up.  Our stories are how we got to this moment in time, good or bad.  While God has plans for each of us, we havealso have free will and are sinners.  Having the courage to tell others how you made it here creates opportunity.  Opportunity to let a woman know she’s not alone, bring another woman to The Lord, help another to avoid the mistakes you made, the possibilities are endless.  If we don’t take these opportunities when given, we can’t glorify God.

I remember the first time I had to tell my story to a room full of peersMy husband and I attend an Adult Bible Fellowship on Sunday mornings here at Grace and we were asked to do a “Get to know you” session.  This involved our teacher asking us questions about our marriage, family life, children, and yes, our testimonies.  My first reaction was to say “of course” with excitement because I surely did not want to dissapoint my teacher and then reality set in, everyone would find out that my husband I are not perfect.  The morning came when we would be interviewed and when I got to class all I could do was cry.  After we spoke a couple that was trying the class out was so thankful that we shared.  They had a similar experience to us and it made them very comfortable to be in class.  My point is that you do not know everything about everyone and to assume that all Christians are perfect is to forget what Jesus died on the cross for.

Lovely ladies of MOPs embrace your story and have the courage to live for Jesus, make the sacrifice and tell your story!

Share your story: Does telling your story feel intimidating in any way? If so, why? If not, why not? Why might God want you to share your story, rather than keeping it hidden?

2 thoughts on “Finding Courage – The Courage to Tell Your Story

  1. Your story continues to encourage me daily. It is not easy to let people in and see that we aren’t perfect but by you doing that, for me at least, I have found courage to be able to do that in my own life. I know that it is ok to be human and not put on this façade that every thing is ok. I appreciate your courage/bravery!

  2. Tammy, thank you for this lovely post. I am blessed not only to have met you this year, but to be at your table. And thank you for your encouragement to be vulnerable and open and share. We are ALL sinners and imperfect and muddling our way through life. Thankfully, we have our Lord as our compass!

Post a Response

