Finding Courage – The Courage to Be a Mom

Today’s post comes from Lindsay D., our fundraising and special events guru.

 

Finding the Courage to be a Mom

 

I don’t think a lot of people realize that it takes courage to be Mom. I certainly didn’t think that it did, but then I had my first baby. There are so many hardships to motherhood, and you won’t ever know or understand them until you become a mom. My mom use to always tell me, “You just wait. Someday when you’re a mom, you will understand”…and yes, she right! One of the hardest things for me, which I need courage to overcome, is being ok with the fact that I am not perfect. You would think it would easy. For I know I am not perfect, and I know that nobody is perfect! We all mess up. But for some reason, when I mess up, I will beat myself up over and over again. Like when my toddler disobeys me for the 10th time (and it’s not even noon) and I lose my patience and yell I at him, sending him crying to his room. I take a couple seconds to breath, and as I do, the feelings of guilt and embarrassment overcome me, and I feel alone. I see all my mom friends post adorable pictures and clever statuses about their wonderful lives and perfect children, and I start to think to myself, “What am I doing wrong that my children are not perfect like theirs? I’m sure their babies never have meltdowns in Costco and eat all their veggies. Why do I seem like the only one who is not perfect?”

I go into my son’s room, scoop him up, and hug him real tight. I tell him how sorry I am, and that even though he should have obeyed me the first time, Mommy should never have yelled at him.  And as my long day ends, I think about how there is no way I am posting on facebook about my disobedient toddler or my wrongful way of handling it. I then realize that I am such a people pleaser that I too only post adorable pictures and cute statuses so that people may think that my life is perfect. For it takes great courage to admit that I am not perfect, and that my kids are not perfect.

My favorite verse that I constantly go to is 2 Corinthians 12:9 (AMP) But He said to me, “My grace is enough for you; for My strength and power are made perfect and show themselves most effective in weakness.” Therefore, I will all the more gladly glory in my weakness and infirmities, that the strength and power of Christ may rest upon me! When I mess up I can use my mistake to teach my boys that Christ loves me and forgives me no matter how many times I sin. Through my weakness I can show Christ’s glory and his love for them.  For the most important thing of being a mom is teaching and showing my kids about our heavenly Father so that they will want to follow Him and live their lives praising, honoring, and believing in Him. In all of my imperfectness, if I get that part right, then maybe I am not that bad of a mom after all.

Share Your Story: What do you think are the hardest parts of motherhood? What about the most rewarding? What is one thing you can do today to embrace your vocation as a mom?

3 thoughts on “Finding Courage – The Courage to Be a Mom

  1. One of the hardest parts for me is the constant demand for selflessness. These littles are constantly demanding and I don’t think I realized how difficult it would be to pour out so much of myself for them or how selfish I actually am.

    • I agree! What’s hardest for me is to keep that selflessness going after they have gone to bed and be able to turn to my husband and be the wife he wants to come home to. It’s hard to pull myself away from my desire to just sit in the quiet, and I sometimes (more often than not) fail, but I keep trying to remain selfless.

Post a Response

